AMS, SMT, and SEM Events featuring Project Spectrum Committee Members

The names of Project Spectrum committee members are underlined

American Musicological Society Annual Meeting
31 October–3 November 2019
Boston, MA

#BelieveMe, Professional Listening, and Hearing on Purpose
Sponsored by the Committee on Women and Gender
Friday, 1 November, 9:00am–10:30am, Grand Ballroom A

Stephanie Jensen-Moulton (Brooklyn College, CUNY), Chair
Stephan Pennington (Tufts University), Respondent

Anna Gatdula (University of Chicago)
Maya Gibson (University of Missouri)
Denise Von Glahn (Florida State University)

Committee on Women and Gender Endowed Lecture
Friday, 1 November, 10:45am–12:45pm, Grand Ballroom A

Stephanie Jensen-Moulton (Brooklyn College, CUNY), Chair

Tammy Kernodle (Miami University of Ohio), “No More Tears and Prayers: Black Women, Black Music, and the Mythology of Post Racial America”

Perspectives on Critical Race Theory and Music
Sponsored by the Committee on Race and Ethnicity
Friday, 1 November, 6:00–7:30pm, Grand Ballroom A

Nina Eidsheim (University of California, Los Angeles), George E. Lewis (Columbia University), Co-chairs

Nancy Love (Appalachian State University), “Facing the Music: Ambiguity, Community, and Identity in White Power Music”
Matthew Leslie Santana (University of California, San Diego) and Shana Redmond (University of California, Los Angeles), interlocutors

Musicology and Expansion
Sponsored by the Graduate Education Committee
Friday, 1 November, 8:00–9:00pm, Grand Ballroom C

James Q. Davies (University of California, Berkeley), Francesca Brittan (Case Western Reserve University), Co-chairs

Tamara Levitz (University of California, Los Angeles)
Ellie Hisama (Columbia University)
Ian MacMillen (Oberlin College-Conservatory)
Susan Bay (University of California, Berkeley)

Historicizing the AMS: An Open Forum
Sponsored by the Committee on the History of the Society
Sunday, 3 November, 9:00–10:30am, Grand Ballroom E

Johann Buis (Wheaton College), Moderator

Matthew D. Morrison (New York University)
Ellen Rosand (Yale University)
Sherrie J. Tucker (University of Kansas)
Liza Vick (University of Pennsylvania)

Society for Music Theory Annual Meeting
7–10 November 2019
Columbus, OH

Plenary Session: “Reframing Music Theory”
Saturday, 9 November, 4:00–5:30pm, Union Ballroom, 2nd floor

Elizabeth West Marvin (Eastman School of Music), Moderator

Philip Ewell (Hunter College and The Graduate Center, CUNY), “Music Theory’s White Racial Frame”
Yayoi Uno Everett (University of Illinois at Chicago), “From Exoticism to Interculturalism: Counterframing the East-West Binary”
Joseph Straus (The Graduate Center, CUNY), “Music Theory’s Therapeutic Imperative and the Tyranny of the Normal”
Ellie M. Hisama (Columbia University), “Getting to Count”